Learn More About the Historic Neighborhoods of Vienna, Virginia
Originally established in 1754 under the name Ayr Hill (later known as Phelps in the 1850s), Vienna’s first settler was a prominent soldier and land owner by the name of Colonel Charles Broadwater. The name of the town was later changed to Vienna shortly before the Civil War and later became a camping ground during the war.
A former railroad bed, the Washington and Old Dominion Trail (also known as the W&OD Trail) is a 45-mile hiking/biking that runs from Shirlington, VA to Purcellville VA; with a portion of the trail running through downtown Vienna. This trail is established and bordered by the Washington and Old Dominion Railroad Regional Park.
Another historical location visitors can see is the Freeman Store and Museum. Originally a residence/general store built in 1959; it operates as a historic store to give visitors a glimpse of the past and sells a wide selection of souvenirs.
One of Vienna’s notable communities is Westwood Country Club , established in 1954. The community’s 58,000 square foot clubhouse offers many amenities such as golfing, tennis, fitness centers, pool, and dining.